As you all who are following and read often I have decided to homeschool my kids this year. We are not going to start until September 2, 2014. I hadn’t even thought about it when I was trying to put together lessons for them, that 9/11 would be coming up. I don’t know what it is but I have s strong feeling that we really need to cover this and they need to know about what happen that day and the days, weeks, months, and years, after and how it effects us now. How things use to be and how things are now. But I really want them to understand mostly right now what happen and how it effected people.

I am having a hard time decide how to go about teaching it. I found some stuff on like but the links don’t seem to work. I want them to learn more about the marmoreal that has been built and opened there and things as well. I would like to do some kind of in memory project with them maybe more than just drawing a picture but some kind of art project.

I know that there are a lot of people who have been reading and liking the last few days so I have a question for you all.

What do you feel are important things that kids should be taught about that day and all that happen? Are there things that weren’t covered or covered as much that you feel maybe should have been? If would like to share your memories of that day or how it has effected you personally that would be great.

I understand this is a subject that everyone has option’s and views and feelings on and that many, many, many more of been touched and effected by personally. Please everyone share because I would like to know what others think and how they feel. But also please be respectful of others option’s, thoughts and feelings.

I want them to learn everything and to know everything and to understand it all. I can’t tell you why because I am not sure why myself, But it just seems like something that they need to learn about. I think part of it is like I was telling someone the other day. I don’t remember ever learning about things that happen more resent in history until I was in High School. Things that maybe happen when I was little or just before I was born. Most everything we learned was from when maybe my grandparents where younger or even before. I do remember the Gulf War being in my history book in high school. But even then it was not covered near as good as anything else in the book. Probably only a page at the most on it. I remember at some point in high school talking about the first shuttle that blew up. That to was a very short lesson. I know there isn’t a lot to learn about the shuttle but I am sure there is a little more they could have covered than oh on January 28 1980 the first shuttle blew up and it had a teacher on board. That is all I really remember them telling us. No they didn’t even tell us the date. I went to the public library and went through old micro film and read until I found it myself and read all the clips about it.

I think it is important to teach kids history as far back as you want. But I also think it is very important to teach them more current history and more than just a clip on a page in passing. To really teach them about it like we do the rest. No we don’t want history to repeat it’s self so that is why we teach it. I don’t know if that is really a good reason we have to cover the same thing over and over again for years. It is history nothing has changed from when we learned about it 5 years ago and now. Why not take a couple years and teach about the things that are going on more recent. Maybe it isn’t old enough for them but anything can be history yesterday is history last week last month last year. Show them that a lot of what is going on now ties back to things that came about not that long ago.

I will stop rambling and just ask that you all please share because it is something that most of us should know about and remember. It would mean a lot to me if you do. I am going to work on putting a lesson together for them. When we are working I am sure they will be sharing on their blogs about it and what they have learned and I will share that with you all as well when they do.

Leave a Reply

