My house looks like a furniture store right now. My Little Bitty told me a while back she needed a bigger bed. She has been sleeping between my bed and hers until I was able to figure out and get her one. I was going to sell my oldest bedroom set and get them a new one but it wasn’t selling. I know because I wasn’t able to set it up and really get good pictures of it all and things. Because it is a nice set and I see other sets going for a lot when I looking. I also figured out I would have to order their beds and wait for them to come leaving them with none until they came. I decided just to wait until I got my money get them and then sell the set.

I ordered the bed and new mattresses and it all came last Thursday. We had decided to keep the dresser, desk and hutch and just sell the bed out of the oldest’s set so we didn’t have to find dressers. I wasn’t crazy about the idea but figured it would work. So we ordered a bed in the color that would match it the best. Well Wednesday evening I found a dresser, chest, night stand, and headboard someone had for sale that was nice and all matched. They only wanted $200 for it all. I messaged them and they said come that night to see it and get it. I didn’t think they would because it was almost 8 then. I dropped the two older kids off with my sister so I could take the back seat out. Then I got father of the year to go with me and to get it. We got there it was up stairs and had to be brought down and through this ladies house to get it. The way the stairs were made it a pain to get it out. Then she told me it was the mattress, box spring, frame, and all the blankets sheets for the bed as well. well. I was able to get everything but the the mattress and box spring. I hated to and never haul stuff like that but I ended up tying it to the top of the truck to get it home. It was way to late and to far to go home and come back. I sold father of the year the headboard and he maybe getting the nightstand as well if it don’t end up fitting in the room once we get everything and can set it up. I made $20 of my money back there on the headboard. Yes I made him buy it from me, he still isn’t paying anything to help with the kids or spent a penny on anything they need as far as clothes or the beds for their rooms or anything else.

The bed came and it was to dark to go with the dressers, I called the store said they had one in the color I needed so we took it back. I get there and they don’t they never did, after calling all over the county to find one I was told they don’t sell that color in the store. I went other places and tried other ideas and could not find what I needed. I ordered a new one thinking it would be here by today or tomorrow. The other took 4/5 days. This one will not be here until this Friday. It’s taking over a week to get here.

I have a large sold wood chest of drew that was my Little Guys when he was a baby that has been passed around since. I was going to put it in the boys room because theirs have been needing replaced for a while. But they got a new bed instead because they needed it more. I wanted another chest to go with it and put in there, that is what they have now instead of a chest and dresser and it works better for them. I have been looking for something I could paint and put in there so I could paint them the colors they like and things but hadn’t found anything. Then we decided to use the one we have already and get another. I have been looking and I can not believe the price of used dressers and chest. Nothing I have found is under $150 most are over that. Then they need refinished, hardware and they are really small or really ugly or old. It is not like oh this is not that old and in really good shape so I want this much for it. Or this is in really good shape and sold so I want more for it. Last night I found another taller sold wood chest the the same color as the one I have just about for $50 it was missing two little knobs off of it. Easy and cheap to fix. I couldn’t believe they only wanted $50 for it, I figured it would be gone or it would be a mess when we went to get it. I sent a message and they had it and said I could come tonight to pick it up. I send father of the year to get it since I didn’t have anyone to watch the kids and couldn’t pick it up. He brought it to us and it is really nice. So we moved the dressers out of their room and put these in. They are happy with them.

Now in my back room I have a desk I am storing for a friend, three chest of draws, a desk with hutch, mattress set, and another mattress out there. I had Little Bitty’s bed because it had to come down to put the dressers in her room but we had to put it back up in the boys rooms until hers comes and we can put it up. She got very upset because she didn’t have her own bed like everyone else even though she sleeps in my bed most the time. By the weekend it will be back out there along with the other bed from their room. I hope to have a yard sale in a couple weeks and sell it all. I want to get it on the carport take good pictures of it all and list it online as well. If it works out like it should when it is all here and everything else is sold I should make back most my money that I spent to get it. I will make over what I spent on the boys chest when I sell their old two. I just can’t wait to get all the new/new to them stuff here and set up so I can get the rest of my house in order because it is a mess right now with moving everything around.

I wish right now I had money to open a store because I have a good amount of stuff to put in it and stock it that is worth something so it would sell quick too. I am thinking about taking the money I make and buying other stuff I find cheap and resale it just do it out of my house for a little bit until I save enough money to rent a place or going and renting a small storage unit to keep stuff in and sell from there.

2 thoughts on “Furniture Store

Leave a Reply

