I have to brag on my older two for just a minute, they got their report cards Friday and they both made honor roll. I am not sure if I said this in another post or not but wanted to make sure I put it out there. I am very proud of them both. I had no doubt my oldest would get it because all she does is school work. She has 43 books out of 60 that she needs done for the year when she got out for winter break in December. She in the last week of school that they have been back has already finished all but the check ups and self test for 4 more. She can work past the self test at home but has to let the teacher check the work and then do the self test at school. Once the work is checked and good and she passes the self test with a high enough score then she can take the test for the over all book. If she gets high enough on that then she moves on to the next book. so by the end of the week she should have all new books in each subject. She loves that she can work at her own pace and finish as quick as she wants to.

My Big Boy on the other hand does not push himself as she does and slides by with getting just enough done. The grades are there he does great work it is just getting enough done in the 9 weeks to make honor roll. last 9 weeks he didn’t do it. I told him this 9 there was no reason not to that I expected it. It isn’t a lot of work and he is more than capable of doing it without pushing himself like my oldest. If he just sets his goals and does his work he should be able to get it done. I think he is already well on his way to have honor roll this 9 weeks as well. They both brought new books home over winter break to work on. I told him he should bring them home and at the end of break work on them so to get ahead if he didn’t want to have to work so hard in class. He really isn’t but he feels like it sometimes. He didn’t think he made honor roll last 9 weeks so when he got his report card Friday he was thrilled. The fact that he is ahead some and so thrilled about making it last 9 weeks makes him want to push and get it next time too. I see him working harder and he has started bring his work home to work on it and make corrections if he needs to so he can finish the books faster. He will tell me I brought my books home today I have to correct this and that and then I can test out. I have so many books done and I think I will get new ones by such and such time. I just hope this excitement stays with him because he is a little behind and he could be caught up soon if he keeps it up.

I am not sure where my Little Guy is as he did not bring home a report card. I am going to have to ask his teacher tomorrow where his is. Maybe I was supposed to pick it up at conference but she never said we needed one or gave us a day or time she was having them. I see her every day and we talk about how he is doing and things so I didn’t think we needed one. He had all good marks last time as well so I am not really worried about it.

Leave a Reply

