Is this a real thing? Getting someone to come in at night to help you with your baby after you go home from the hospital? I never heard of this or even thought of such a thing until I seen a lady in a group looking for night help to come help her sleep train her 6-week-old babies. I thought that was a little crazy as 6-week-old babies need to eat on demand and things. Others were saying the same that at that age they were to young to sleep train. Some were saying they tried it at 4 to 6 months and it didn’t work. But that is another post because I don’t understand that either. But then I seen other women saying they had someone come in to help with their baby at night and to take care of it at night.

I know a lot of times family will come over and help with things around the house and help the new mom out with other kids or what when she comes from the hospital. This way mom can take care of baby and herself and rest. But I thought it was mostly just that help with the household things and other kids. Not at night unless one of the parent’s mothers came to stay for a little bit with them. Not help with the new baby and take care of it at night so mom don’t have to get up. I am sure they help with the baby some but not full on taking care of the baby getting up all night with it and things. Help while mom takes a shower or something like that.

I think it just shocked me that people pay people to come in and take care of their babies at night when they are there and when they are so tiny. I understand people work and things but we are talking about when you are on maternity leave or moms that don’t work. When my babies were that little I didn’t want them away from me and anyone else taking care of them. I let others hold them or what but when they needed something I did it and made sure they had what they needed. I couldn’t imagine just leaving them for someone else to take care of at night. I am not about sharing that new baby time.

When my first two were born, my ex took his week vacation he had it and wasn’t going to use it for anything else. That was more for him to get to spend time with the baby and bond with it. I still was up all the time with it even if he got up with them. My oldest was a nightmare the first three weeks. She would sleep all day and be up every hour to hour and half at night. It was miserable but I did it and never thought to have someone come take care of her so I could just sleep. She was mine it was just what you do.

When I had my last we went home from the hospital and went back to life as normal the next day. Bus drop off, shopping and babysitting was added shortly after. Her dad was not there to help with anything. I did anything and everything that had to do with her day and night around the clock. No one gave her a bottle changed her diaper or watched her while I showered. Most the time we showered together so I could get a shower at all. I would shower her then lay her in her baby bath and shower. If I left her in her bed or swing she would get upset.

I just feel you are missing out on so much those first weeks and months if you hire someone to take care of them even just at night. These are the times that you are bonding and learning what they are like. Once they are older I am all for baby sitter and getting away for a little bit. But even then, not until they are 2 or 3 and then there are just a few people I would leave them with.

My friend’s daughter in law just has a baby in December and they are coming in June to go to something and leaving the baby with her for two weeks. I love my friend and trust her with my kids any day for any amount of time but I still would not leave my 6-month-old baby even for the night with her or anyone. kids that little it is not good to leave them more than a night If that I forget what they say at that age. I think they say they should not be away from the parent for more than a day and not overnight. My friend says oh she is my grand baby I had two kids and things. That isn’t the point the point is the developmental part of it with the baby and being with a parent or Stanger and how it affects them. It isn’t anything against my friend at all its just thinking about the baby and they don’t think about that kind of thing or know really. They haven’t studied it or get it. They just think if the baby is with someone they trust and know will take care of it it’s fine. I could see a night or two but two weeks is a long time.

Leave a Reply

