We had a pretty windy day today from these storms that have been hitting everyone. They said we would be getting the worse around 4 so me and the kids ran to the chicken coop to drop the bag of feed and take care of them before it got to bad to go out in. We got home and I parked the truck so it would not get hit by branches or falling trees if that was to happen. I have to park off to the side and kind of behind my house up in the yard to get where there are not trees. I have 4 or 5 big Pine trees that have never been cut or taken care of in the last 4 years or more. The branches are way over grown. Then we have a few Palm trees of different sizes around as well. I am not worried about them as much as the Pines. I have seen many of the Pine tree’s with in about 3 miles of us just fall over and pull the roots out of the grown not even break off or lose limbs but the whole tree just fall over. The little kids school had a bunch on it’s property and a lot of them fell and the ones that didn’t broke they had to get them all removed. If they fall anyone of them could hit our house. I pray that they don’t because most the tree would go on my house if it fell toward the house. My truck sits right under a cluster with branches covering it all around. When we have bad storms with winds and possible tornadoes I park it in the back.

4 pm came and went with nothing more than the wind whipping up and blowing around, but it has been doing that all day. The kids weren’t really to worried about it. Then about 630 or 7 they started the alarms on the tv and the warrnings at the top of the screen and they were reading them and starting to get worried. I told them to go get their baths and things before the storm hit so that they would be done while I cooked dinner. They kept say what if the storm comes why we are in the bath? How will we know if it is coming? What if the house gets blown away and we are naked? I couldn’t help but laugh at that. I told them that I had never really been in or seen a torando but that everyone says they sound like a train, so if they hear something that sounds like a train then to get in the hallway with all the doors closed because it is the safest place in the house. On one said is the bathroom and two closets and the other are two bedrooms at the end is a bedroom and you have to go through the living room and dining room to get to it. They wanted to know what about the fish and the frogs. I told them they had to stay in their tanks they would be fine. Even if they broke the odds are there would be water around and they would get washed away in the water. What else do you tell them? They wanted to know about the dogs. I told them the dogs could come in the hall they probably would if they seen them in there.

When I said if you hear a train, my oldest said oh great now in the night Little Guy and me are going to be running to the hall in the middle of the night when we hear the train coming. We live about 3 to 5 miles from the train during the day you don’t hear it most the time but in the still of the night you can faintly hear it in the distance. I said look if you hear it like it is outside the front door or your window not off in the distance then go to the hall but you will know if it is a real train or not.

My son went and found this picture

20170122_205709 and hung it on the door. He told me he was taking it outside to put up I told him it may blow away or get messed up out there in the storm. He said your right then I will hang it on the door inside then. He was going to hang it on the poll outside. He said I think it will protect us from the storm since we found it in our yard when we came home from the hurricanes and our house was safe. It protected it then it can protect it and us now.

The storm hit pretty hard around 830 and lasted on and off until about 10. Our power went off a few times but came right back on that was it. I don’t think we lost limbs out of the trees and things as I didn’t hear or feel any but I won’t know until morning when we go out it is to dark out there right now.

Leave a Reply

