As you all know the older three are in 4-h and raising chickens, they each of 4 chickens of their own. They have to have three for fair and we have an extra for each kid in case something happened to one or two before then. We have ours in the 4-h coup with one other family and some extra chickens, that I don’t think anyone really knows how we ended up with them because we ordered just enough. We now have 30 chickens in the coup and they started laying a couple weeks ago. I think we are up to between 15 and 20 laying right now as this is what we normly get in a day when we go out to collect them. Thursday we had 40 I think that someone didn’t go out on Wednesday like they were supposed to because we were back to around 20 Friday. Anyway it is split between us and the other family we go Thursday, Friday and every other weekend the other goes Monday and Tuesday and every other weekend. Since the coup is right next to the office one of the office staff goes Wednesday.

The kids couldn’t wait for them to start laying eggs so they could get them and I thought it would be great as well as you keep all the eggs you get the days you go and at times we go through a lot of eggs. Plus we share with a friend of mine or people around us if we don’t use them all. The kids are loving going out and collecting the eggs. It is like Easter every time because they do not lay in the spot set up for them to lay they lay them all over the coup and all over the ground and hide them. Some put them in the spot made but it is about half and half right now.

The kids and my friend say the eggs are really good and better than the store bought eggs we get. They are even talking about keeping them and not selling them at fair and putting them in our friends backyard so they can keep getting the eggs from them and maybe even selling them as well.

I can’t eat them, I don’t know why it just seems very weird to me to eat them. I eat other eggs that we buy at the store with no problem as long as they are fixed in a way that I like and are hot. I am not a huge fan of eggs but eat them and like to have them at times but they can not get cold. I can’t eat cold eggs or reheated eggs out of the question. But for some reason it’s weird to eat the ones from our own chickens. It’s not like I look at them as pets or anything like that they are just there something the kids are doing and I take them to take care of them. We even talked about what you do with them once they stop laying and I said they sell them for meat because this bread is supposed to be good for both. I don’t know how to tell or why one is better than any other or that one really is, this is just what I have been told. When they ask what we do with them after they stop laying I said we could eat them. I know I couldn’t kill them or be apart of it it’s not my thing. Again I know it just how it is and do not see anything wrong with it, I just can’t kill something. My friend and her boyfriend would have no problem doing that kind of thing and would do it and we could split it all up. They are use to that kind of thing I am not. I really hate that I am not use to it and can’t do it because I know it is good because if we want to raise animals and things it is something that would need to be done. Anyway if I can’t even eat eggs from them how the hell would I eat the chicken its self if they killed them and everything? I guess I am weird because of it and weird because it bothers me. But how do I get past this? It is normal we eat eggs why does it matter where they came from be it ours or the store? I don’t know what I think is so different about them or why it bothers me. Makes no since at all really just the thought of eating one it’s like nope that’s okay I don’t want any, changed my mind. It is subconscious because I look at them and think oh yeah we got eggs we can make this or that. But then to cook one and eat it nope. I have store bought eggs in the fridge I could go in there and cook one and eat it now but not one of them and we have twice as many of our own. I just don’t get it at all.

Okay I should go work on my school stuff. I have a project due next weekend that I should have been working on all along. Just thought I would amuse you all with some of my weirdness before I got started and give you something to read and laugh at. Maybe even make you feel a little more normal in your own life.

Leave a Reply

