I am a little ticked off about my mid term I took for my basic counseling skills class the week before last. We just now got them back because one girl didn’t show up to take hers so we had to wait until she took it before he would grade them and let us see them. I don’t understand his thinking either because he grades it gives it back so we can look at it then takes them again. Not just test but all our papers. Seems odd but whatever.

Anyway it was a 50 question mid term and worth 100 points. I get mine back and it says 92 and it is crossed out and says 94. I figured that was because he skipped a question and forgot to add the points for that one in to make it 100. I glance over the first page and see I got number one wrong. I looked at the answer and was like oh okay yeah got that wrong why did I pick that answer, I did’t read the question or look at all the marks on it. I went on flipping through the rest to see what others I missed. He was asking if anyone had questions if they wanted him to go over all of it or what. They decided to go over all of it. I was looking through because something seemed off about my grade. I was trying to make sure he hadn’t marked any wrong that were right as he went through them and figure out if my grade really was off and why. Then one girl stopped him on one and was asking him about it. It was one I had gotten wrong as well and we had put the same answer she was asking why it was marked wrong. So they went back and forth over it and me and her were the only ones that spoke up and said anything. Because I said yes I got that wrong to and reading it felt this was the right answer for the same reason. They went back and forth over it and he pulled up some notes and things.

In the mean time I figured out that he had went back and marked number one right because he had messed up when he was grading them but figured it out before he handed it back. After I had read it I was about to question him about it until I figured out what he had done.

They were still on the other question and why it was right or wrong, when I got done figuring out my papers. The question was…………..

What are ways to show empathy when in a session with a client?

A) there are many different channels or ways

B) warm vocal tones, vocal pitch, tacking

C) some off the wall answer that made no since

D) another answer that you knew was wrong even if you had never taken the class.

 

Well we have been learning about the 3 V’s and B and the BLS in class and this is what he has drilled in us pretty much from day one. The three V’s and B are Visual, Vocal, Verbal and body language. There are other ways to show empathy and these are not to just show empathy but this is the spring board we were using. Plus there are other ways to show it, but this what we have talked about in class. To me it seem like a trick question since it didn’t have all three V’s and the B listed. They wanted you to think it was B but the answer was really A. Since B was not a complete answer I put A figuring that if I put B and got it wrong that was what he was going to say it isn’t a complete answer there for it would be A because……. The other girl who questioned him about it had looked at it the same way and answered A as well.

Well he tells us nope the best answer for that question is B and that he wasn’t asking about the three V’s plus B just what are ways to show empathy. But the answer kind of lead into that. He said he was going to look at his notes he had at home for that question but he didn’t think he would be giving us anymore points we were just wrong and B is the best answer. He will let us know Monday when we go back in. After class I was talking with a few other girls in the calls and I ask them what they got for that question as well and they said the same thing me and the other girl said and put B. Mind you there are only 9 people in this class and that is 4 out of 9 of us that I know for a fact that put B. I think the girl sitting in front of me said she had too but not 100% sure because I was looking over my paper at the time. I am not sure how many others also put A but I am thinking probably most if 4 of us had. So it ticks me off that the half the class or almost half the class that I know of interpreted the question one way and he is looking at it another then to me the question wasn’t clear enough in what it was asking. He even said yeah technically we were right too because there are many ways but says his answer was the best out of the 4 so it is right even though it was kind of half and answer compared to what we have been learning in class. I feel if that many of us got it wrong and we picked the other “right” answer we should get credit for it. Who is to say that A is the best the best comes down to a matter of opinion when there is two answers that can be right. Just because he thinks his answer is the best we felt ours was the best since the other was not complete. If he is saying they are both right then he should have to give anyone who picked A or B credit. Not like we picked C or D that are in left field and have nothing to do with what we are talking about and trying to get him to give us credit. We would have nothing to stand on to even explain why we should get credit but when he says both are right and most the class felt it was this we should all get credit if we picked A or B. I know it is only two points but that two points could mean the difference between a C and, an A or a B and A at the end of the term. To say you can’t have them two points and have that letter grade higher because you didn’t pick the right, right answer just don’t seem right to me.

I don’t know why this is bothering me so much I guess maybe just because I’m still not in a very good mood and haven’t been for a few days now or what. Most times I probably just said screw it and forgot it but for some reason I am a little ticked off about it. I guess too probably the common they are both right but.

Leave a Reply

