The kids last day of school was yesterday and they are out for Spring Break. I told them it is going to be Cleaning Break for them because I am tired of the way the house is and always having to fight with them to clean it. It’s mostly just clutter and I am over it we need to do away with a lot and make the house more functional for us at this stage. We have been here going on 4 years we have changed things around once since then. That was to take the play room out make room for desk and bookcases. The kids all have gotten bigger their needs have changed and we need more room. Not so much more room as we need to make the space we have functional not just cluttered space or a dumping ground for things we don’t know what to do with or where to put it.

I have the 4th bedroom or the back room as we call it that we are going to move around and change up. It is the size of of one and half bedrooms and it has a closet. Right now it has 6 tall bookcases and two short ones, three school desk a regular desk, toddler bed, couch, love seat, queen size mattress/box spring and other junk that has collected back there. I forgot about the three desk until I was writing this just now. One has the printer it will have to stay the other two I am not sure what is even in or on them. The big desk I hope my Big Boy will agree to get rid of because we don’t really need it. But someone gave it to him and he is funny about it. Oh and there is a rocking chair back there forgot it too. The other two school desk I am not sure if I will have room for them or not or if I will use them I will have to wait and see how things go once I move everything around.

Right now I know that I am selling the dinning room table, taking the fish tank and stand out of there as well. I am putting the frogs back in the five gallon tank and taking the big one down. That stand will go in the trash or given away that it is sitting on. It is an old night stand I redone and spray painted to sit it on. The five will sit on my end table nicely in the living room and the frogs will get more interaction. They love when you are at the tank watching them and swim around and things.

I have a dinning room table that use to be bar high with two stools it is a few feet long and couple wide. I cut the legs down shorter so the kids could put their chairs up to it and use it. I think I am going to put it in the dinning area and put the computer on it. Then take a few of the bookcases out of the back and put in there to free up some room in the back room. Make and office area in that area. Maybe put the little desk with the printer in there or one of those little desk out there for the little kids to draw and play out. I have the rug I put in my room it is to big most of it will be under my bed so kind of a waste I am going to put that in there as well. Kind of tie everything together make it look nice.

Then in the back room I am thinking move all the book shelves over to one side of the room and then use the other half for either a family closet like area or a play room. I love the idea of putting all the dressers and clothes out of the bedrooms out there. I think it would make it easier when folding and putting everything away and easier when looking for clothes for everyone. It would also keep the kids from taking things out not wearing them and them getting tossed around their rooms and back into the dirty clothes when they were never wore.

But I also like the idea of having all the toys back there and not having them all over the bedrooms. If it isn’t spotless all the time it is in the back where no one goes but them and it isnt’ all over the floors where they are sleeping and everyone is walking around. I tell them all the time if there was a fire how would they get out there is so much stuff all over their floors. I am also getting rid of a bunch of toys and packing others away for a while so there will not be near as many as there are now so it shouldn’t be as big of a deal. The kids want the play area in the back instead of putting the dressers in there. They said they would rather have a play room than more room in their rooms without the dressers and things in there. I am thinking maybe we will try it this way for a little bit and see how it goes. If it isn’t working then I will move the toys back to their rooms and put clothes back there.

But for now first things are first they are going through all their toys deciding what to get rid of and what to keep. I have to get all the crap back there that I don’t need sold and the table sold so that I can move everything around. I just hope it all sells and sells quick because I want it all gone. I think it will be odd at first with not having a table in the dinning room but I think it will be a lot nicer. We do not use the table at all hardly. It sits a cluttered mess that you can’t even sit down at 99.99% of the time. I we eat in the living room, the little kids have a table and we sit on the couch. Me and the older kids were talking about it and when we were with RC we didn’t have a table big enough for all of us and most the time we went outside and sat at the tables out there and had dinner. The kids loved it they would eat and then run around and play we would sit and talk or whatever. We all ate at the table together more then than we do now with it right in the house with us. We liked sitting outside and eating like that more than at the table in the house. Even now if one of my friends stops over or comes over the kids sit in the living room and eat and me and them go outside and sit and eat and talk. I like being outside in the evenings.

Even when the table inside is cleaned off the kids always want to sit in the living room and watch something why we eat. We don’t end up watching whatever it is with them all talking but everyone is comfortable and they do talk and things. When they are the table they rush to get done and get down.

If everything goes good I hope that we can have everything gone through by the end of the day today now that it is Sunday. Then I hope that it all sells by Tuesday or Wednesday because it is so packed in there right now I can’t do anything until some of the stuff is gone out of there. Right now I have to do homework, I have said for hours now I was going to do it but haven’t yet. I need to get all of it done for the week and then really start going through everything. I started in december then everything happen with sending my couch and things back and using the old one and everything. I have just been to busy since to mess with it all. I think I will go now and start listing stuff and hope to have people coming to look at it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

