I remember when I was about 14 my dad had this big car it was a diesel, it was purple and it ran. Like you just floating down the road. It was like a land yacht. My grandpa his dad had some hunting property south of us about 100 miles. It was about 5 am I was up I couldn’t sleep for some reason that night. My dad got up and said lets go to camp. I had never been there my mom always told us if we went we couldn’t be allowed to go back to my dads. She didn’t want us around the guns and they drank down there a lot of times. There was always a bunch of people out there. She didn’t trust my dad. So me and my brother had never got to go. I decided I didn’t really care I wanted to go so I got my stuff and off we went for the day. I drove us all the way there. We pulled over inside the gate to get the guns out the sun was just starting to come up. You look out through the fields and there was deer all over. You couldn’t shoot where we were we still had to go a few miles or more in before you could hunt. A truck passed why we were sitting there he said that was grandpa’s friend going out to the camp so there would probably be a fire when we got out of there. It was so cold out I remember freezing on the way. I turn the heat on it get to hot turn it off and it get cold. We rode turning the heat off and on. We got out to the camp and parked he wanted to go hunt for a little bit since everything was just starting to move around. We walked and walked for miles. I don’t know how he was even able to find his way back to our camp and where we were supposed to be because everything pretty much looked the same. Once in a while you see a camper someone had pulled out there or something. We got back to the camp my shoes and feet were soaked it was so cold. They had gotten a big fire going. I was so tired I hadn’t slept at all the night before really. They had cinder blocks around the fire to keep it contained. I got one and pulled it as close to the fire as I could get without getting burnt sat down. I pulled off my socks and shoes and put them up on another one a little closer to the fire hopes they would dry quick and not melt or catch on fire. I fell a sleep, I would wake up off and on and move around because the block was so uncomfortable to sit on. I kept falling in the whole on it. I can remember still to this day over 15 years later thinking why in the hell would they put that freak-en whole in the block and why they wouldn’t have something else to sit on. I sleep for a few couple hours or more probably then got up. My shoes and things were pretty dry probably would have caught fire if I hadn’t woke up and got them. They had went across the street/path or whatever to this old camper they were gutting and using for fire wood. We hung out for a little while longer then we decided since my grandpa wasn’t out there to make the 50 mile drive over to his house before we headed home. I drove us all the way to his house and we hung out there for a while. It was nice to get to see him because I hadn’t gotten to in a long time. Then I drove us home. I don’t think my mom knows to this day that we went or that I drove us the 200 mile or more trip all the way there and back. I know she didn’t know at the time or the shit would have hit the fan. I probably would have never been allowed to see my dad again. I didn’t have a learners permit or anything at the time. She says she taught me how to drive when I was like 16. I had been driving for two years before that. My dad had this big station-wagon it was a stick shift. That was the first thing I learned how to drive in a closed down K mart parking lot one night. Then I use to drive me and my aunt through the neighbourhood to the little store because she couldn’t learn how to drive it for the life of her. My dad was tired of having to load everyone up and drive a few blocks a way to the little store every time she wanted to go. So he taught me to drive it in a few minutes he had been trying to show her forever. Sometimes she would drive and I would just have to make sure it was in park and things when we got where we were going. It just got to where it was easier for me to drive. Few times she didn’t get it right the car almost rolled a way why we were in the store.

Leave a Reply

